Gilmore announces Seanad nominee recommendations

21 May 2011

Statement by Eamon Gilmore TD
Leader of the Labour Party, Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs & Trade

The Tanaiste and leader of Labour Party Eamon Gilmore has announced that his four recommendations for inclusion in the Taoiseach Enda Kenny's Seanad nominees are: Dr Katherine Zappone, Aideen Hayden, Lorraine Higgins and Mary Moran.

Dr Katherine Zappone is an Irish Human Rights Commissioner and a former CEO of the National Women's Council of Ireland. Aideen Hayden is a solicitor and Chairperson of the housing charity Threshold. Lorraine Higgins is a barrister and Mary Moran is a teacher by profession.

"I am delighted to recommend these four outstanding candidates for inclusion in the Taoiseach's nominees to the Seanad", the Tanaiste said

Digital Revolutionaries