Labour Blog

We've announced our Spokespeople

Posted on June 08, 2016 at 03:10 PM

Today our Party Leader Brendan Howlin announced our spokespeople line up on Kildare Street.


In the Dáil, in the Seanad, and in society at large, they will lead the work of rebuilding our party. And fighting for progressive change in Ireland. The group of 19 spokespersons announced today will begin this important work working with our 50 councillors.

Our councillors and spokespersons, along with members across the length and breadth of the country will begin working to revive a radical policy agenda for the Labour Party;


Brendan Howlin TD

  • Labour Party Leader
  • Spokesperson on Justice and Northern Ireland


Joan Burton TD

  • Spokesperson on the Arts
  • Spokesperson on Education and Skills
  • Spokesperson on Finance


Alan Kelly TD

  • Spokesperson on Health
  • Spokesperson on Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation


Jan O’Sullivan TD

  • Spokesperson on Children and Youth Affairs
  • Spokesperson on Housing, Planning and Local Government


Willie Penrose TD

  • Spokesperson on Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Rural Affairs
  • Spokesperson on Social Protection


Brendan Ryan TD

  • Party Whip
  • Spokesperson on Defence
  • Spokesperson on Transport, Tourism and Sport


Sean Sherlock TD

  • Spokesperson on Communications, Climate Change and Natural Resources
  • Spokesperson on Public Expenditure and Reform


Senator Ivana Bacik

  • Seanad Group Leader
  • Spokesperson on Foreign Affairs and Development


Senator Kevin Humphreys

  • Seanad Whip
  • Spokesperson on Dublin


Senator Denis Landy

  • Spokesperson on Local Government Reform
  • Spokesperson on Regional Development


Senator Ged Nash

  • Spokesperson on Equality
  • Spokesperson on Labour Affairs and Workers Rights,


Senator Aodhán Ó Ríordáin

  • Spokesperson on Environment and Sustainable Development
  • Spokesperson on Gaeltacht Affairs


In addition to the Oireachtas spokespersons, a further five national spokespersons have been appointed to support the work of rebuilding the Labour Party.


Joe Costello

  • Spokesperson on Urban Regeneration


Ciarán Lynch

  • Spokesperson on Affordable Housing
  • Spokesperson on the Retail Sector


Kathleen Lynch

  • Spokesperson on Mental Health
  • Spokesperson on Disability


Michael McNamara

  • Spokesperson on International Tax Justice


Emmet Stagg

  • Spokesperson on Older People


Joanna Tuffy

  • Spokesperson on Lifelong learning


Alex White

  • Spokesperson Constitutional Matters

EDIT : 15th June

Under the new d'Hondt system Seán Sherlock will chair the Committee on Public Sector Oversight and Petitions as well as being a member of the Joint Committee on Finance, Public Expenditure and Reform.

Deputy Joan Burton will sit on the newly established Budgetary Arrangements Committee as well as the Joint Committee on Education and Skills.

As our Spokesperson on Health, Deputy Alan Kelly will sit on the Health Committee as well as sitting on the Public Accounts Committee.

Our Spokesperson on Children and Youth Affairs, Deputy Jan O'Sullivan will sit on the Joint Committee on Children and Youth Affairs

TD for Longford-Westmeath Deputy Willie Penrose will sit on the Joint Committee on Agriculture, Food and the Marine.


Permanent link | Categories: